In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Complaining Displeases the Lord

2 Comments

This morning I was reading in the book of Numbers where the children of Israel were in the wilderness complaining like babies.  “The children of Israel also wept again and said, ‘Who will give us meat to eat?  We remember the fish, which we ate freely in Egypt, the cucumbers, the melons, the leeks, the onions, and the garlic, but now our very beings are dried away.  There is nothing at all, besides this manna before our eyes.'”  Now, I can understand how they felt, to only have bread to eat for such a long time.  And those other foods sure would taste good at that time, but… the main thing is… that, complaining displeased the Lord and He was very angry about it.

This made me think about us today when we go through trials and hard times; when we are in the wilderness.  It is very easy to complain and say things like, “Why do I have to go through this?!  Why is this happening to me?!  I wish I didn’t have to go through this!  Blah, blah, blah.”  But since God never changes and He is the same today as He was back then, we can be correct in saying He gets angry when we complain and He is displeased with it.

Starting today, I am going to try very hard to not complain when I go through bad times; when I am in the wilderness.  After all, God knows my future and I must trust He knows what He’s doing by allowing me to go through things.

2 thoughts on “Complaining Displeases the Lord

  1. 🙂 complaining can lead to loneliness, Thanks for sharing

    Like

Leave a Reply

