In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Father’s Day 2010

4 Comments

At church, our Pastor’s wife asked all the children to write what they thought about their father.  On Father’s Day, as the writings were shared with the congregation, there was much laughter, some “Awwwww…’s”, and a few tears.  And some of the tears came from Len and I when what our boys said about him were read.  I must share… for my heart was and is so deeply touched and if you know us, yours will be too.

From Todd:

“To me, my Dad is the greatest role model I could have.  A man who gives himself for the better of others, with kindness in his heart.  I pray with all my heart that his life will continue to be bettered, and be used to better me.  His wisdom and knowledge has helped me countless times with my life, and my walk with God.  Although it’s sometimes difficult for me to fully understand him, I still appreciate all of the time, energy, and love he has put into me, and into his family.  It is characteristics like these that make a great father like him, and I could not have asked for any better.”

From Kyle:

“My father is a man that has built principles of living within my life since I was a child.  Through his teachings I have developed the understanding that nothing in life is free, and that hard work not only can propel one to success, but can build ones character.  My father has always told me that he wants me to become better than him.  This is something not found in many.  Pride does not keep him from pouring knowledge and understanding into me. 

He receives more joy in seeing others succeed when he helps push them to their fullest potential than if he gains anything for himself.  A heart of gold, a selfless man, one who lives life with his hands open, ready to give.  I have yet to learn the patience he has with people.  He may be strong in his ways, but it is because he can see the gold in everyone. 

I can remember nights as a child when he would lie across my feet while I was asleep and pray the Lord would keep and direct me; altar services that he would take me into a corner, and teach me how to pray.  I never want to take the gift of having a father for granted, because without him I would only be half the man that I am today.”

See photos of our day here.

4 thoughts on “Father’s Day 2010

  1. Sis Tena,
    You have a beautiful family, how are you?

    Thank you for sharing,

    Love you,

    Cher

    Like

  2. Hi Tena: WhAT A BEAUTIFUL POST! I’M SURE YOUR HEART AND YOUR HUSBAND’S ARE FULL AND GRATEFUL. YOU HAVE PASSED ON TO YOUR BOYS A GODLY HERITAGE, AND THAT IS ONE OF LIFE’S GREATEST BLESSINGS.
    LOVE YOU, KAREN

    Like

  3. I really enjoyed reading this and hearing it once again. I cried when I heard it read the first time. Knowing what kind of father Bro.Len is and to have his grown boys honor him with these words was so touching.

    Love your family,
    Mindy

    Like

Leave a Reply

