In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Cookbooks

16 Comments

I have a weakness.

It’s cookbooks.

I love cookbooks! πŸ˜€

I enjoy looking at cookbooks.

When I get a new one, I look at every single recipe and put a star by the ones I want to try.

I have a very large cookbook collection.

Maybe because I enjoy cooking and baking. πŸ˜€

If I was stranded on a desert island and I could have just one cookbook, it would be this one:

//images.amazon.com/images/P/0767902793.01._AA240_SCLZZZZZZZ_.jpg” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

This is an absolutely FUN cookbook to use! And everything I’ve made from it was delicious!

I know I’m going to be in trouble for doing this, because it will probably make me want to buy more (which I really don’t need, because it would take a lifetime to use every single recipe that I have a star on) but…

…I’d like to know which of your cookbooks you would take if you could only take one.

Thanks in advance for sharing!

If I could only take one food magazine, it would be this one:

https://i1.wp.com/www.yardsalequeen.com/images/ysq016.jpg

16 thoughts on “Cookbooks

  1. Well, Tena, here is something else you got from your ol’ Mom. I collect Cookbooks also, as you already know. But, I can never figure out why when I try some of the recipes they never look the same as the pictures????
    I love the “Pillsbury Bakeoff” cookbooks. I use a lot of recipes in them. But the one book I really love is “Treasury of Barbecue” even though since living in MS. we don’t have a barbecue grill. Have to get one someday. Love you…………..

    Ha! They usually don’t look like the pictures, Mom. That’s okay, as long as they taste good.
    Yeah, I have a bunch of the “Pillsbury Bakeoff” books, too. I’ve made a LOT of things from them.

    Like

  2. Hello Sis Tena,

    The top book looks like a fun book, think I’ll have to go purchase it, I love cook book to a point, I love learning new things, and making new recipes, it is sometimes hard to make new things for college classes on Monday nights at the church, but it is a challenge that I love to do, serving others is such a blessing to me, anyways, the book that I really like is called THE ULTIMATE COOKING WITH 4 INGREDIENTS by jean Coates, these are especially fun with kids, it isn’t so hard for them
    Love you
    Cher

    Hmmm…I’ll have to check that one out. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing. Love you, too.

    Like

  3. I don’t have a favorite cookbook, but I would have to say I would be lost without Foodnetwork.com.

    Mindy, my neice, Chloe, absolutely loves Foodnetwork! I like it, too, because of the videos.
    You make the BEST potato salad I’ve ever had! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I love cookbooks too…now if only I loved to COOK!!! The Joy of Cooking is my favorite. It tells me how to do things like make sour cream, which I’ve used, and how to skin a rabbit or coon…as if….!

    Ooooo…barbequed racoon. Sounds yummy. N-O-T!!!!!! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I’d have to say my favorite cookbook is the one we put together in Wichita Falls as a fundraiser!! I would definitely grab that one if I could only keep one. My next favorites are a couple I got by Paula Deane!! Absolutely love those two, also.

    Paula Deane is great, I agree. She really LOVES food. πŸ˜€ Thanks for sharing, Sis. Holley.

    Like

  6. Tena:

    My Mom has a similar weakness. Her weakness is for recipes! She cuts them out all the time and saves them I don’t know where! She doesn’t use but maybe 1% of them. It’s just a compulsion I guess. I saw that Cooking Light cookbook today at Costco. My favorite cookbook is my Fix it and Forget It crockpot cookbook. Since I work fulltime, I use my crockpot alot. It saves me a lot of time, and gets us at the dinner table a lot earlier. Enjoy your cookbooks!

    Love ya,
    Karen

    That is funny about your mom, Karen. πŸ™‚ I like crockpot meals, too. I seem to have to try several recipes, though, to find ones we like. I guess I just need ano-o-o-other, cookbook. πŸ˜€ Love ya, too.

    Like

  7. Oh My! I love recipes. And I absolutely love the Cooking Light Magazine. I don’t think I could do without it. πŸ™‚ I love your cooking too. “hint” πŸ™‚

    I’ll take the hint, Sis. Hurst. πŸ™‚ And, thanks for the compliment.
    Hey, I like your new avatar photo!

    Like

  8. Tena,
    I have the same problem you do i just dont use them enough. my faverit is a dutch pastery book and joy of cooking . I have found i ketchen is not complet with out the joy of cooking its the bassics . my dad tought cooking and that was alwasy his fav and now mine. injoy your cook books connie

    M-m-m-m-m…dutch pastry sounds yummy! I have to hold myself back from baking so much, because I don’t want to make my family unhealthy, but I LOVE baking! Yum, yum! πŸ™‚
    I just counted my cookbooks because I was curious how many I had and I have close to 180 cookbooks! And over 100 cookmagazines! Oh, my!!!
    But, can you believe? I don’t even have The Joy of Cooking!
    Thanks for visiting my blog, Connie, and for your comment. Hope you stop by again. πŸ™‚ Do you have a blog?

    Like

  9. Roxana, that sounds like a Souther Mississippi cook book. Yep! they would use that one down here a lot. But, not me…………… We even have a “Fried Rabbit” fast food. Yuk!

    Like

  10. a 180 cook books .lol…. now i can tell my sis no i am not a collector of cook books… i don’t have near
    enough. lol…. i think i only have about 20. i will have to look up some of the names and see if we any that are the same for fun…. latter.

    But, Connie, this collection began 25 years ago, when I got married. So, it doesn’t sound as bad, right? πŸ™‚ That’s only 7 per year! πŸ˜€

    Like

  11. I have to make a confession … at least once a month I go to bed with a cookbook or two. When I am dead tired and don’t feel like investing myself in the current book I am making my way through, hunkering down with one of my cookbooks is a great way to shut down and slip into dream land.

    I often purchase a cookbook for one recipe produce it and don’t head back to that book for a long time, possibly years. Eeek!

    A favorite? Can’t name one. It depends on what mood strikes me that day. Couldn’t live without? Depends on where I am stranded — what’s available around me in terms of ingredients, etc. Good question though.

    Thanks for the great post!

    Like

  12. Well, I’m almost up to you Tena. I have 157 besides a few magazines. Mom

    Like

  13. i need a bit of help . i see you use flicker for your photos . i have gone in and started an account. but i cant find on my flicker home page where it says feed link. am i missing something ???
    please advise. connie

    Connie, I emailed you the answer as best as I could. Good luck!

    Like

  14. I can’t think of one particular cookbook that I would just have to have with me. I probably couldn’t do without my over 20 years old recipe box that is rusting on the bottom. It has a lot of favorite recipes that I’ve used over the years.

    Thanks for sharing, Sis. Carol. Have a wonderful day!

    Like

  15. And did you buy the newly released cookbook from the California Ladies Ministries? πŸ™‚

    Like

  16. I love cookbooks too! I am obsessed! I go to the local bookstore during lunch and fantasize about which ones I am going to buy next….It all started with Masterchef on Australian TV!!!

    I’ve been writing about the trends in cookbook publishing – in my opinion, they are replacing a coffee table photobook! The recent editions are so luxurious and so stunning…I review several on my website wordofprey…xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

