In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Visit With My Parents – Part 2

7 Comments

So, we’re driving through town (Columbia, MS) and I see this


on the front lawn of a house. I thought, “My goodness, that’s ugly.”

I said to my mom, while laughing, “Is that some sort of new art or something?”

She said, “Nope. It’s a bottle tree.”

“A bottle tree?”, I asked.

“Yep”, she said, “A bottle tree. There are many around here. You’ll see them if you keep lookin’.”

So, I kept lookin’ and sure enough, they were everywhere!

Okay, please nobody get offended, but they looked so…

…hokey. πŸ™‚ I couldn’t figure out WHY someone would ruin their beautiful yard and house with that ugly thing out there.

I said, “Mom, I su-u-u-ure do hope you don’t get one.” She laughed and said, “No way!”


This one’s not even on a “tree”. It’s on a metal stake that someone makes just for this purpose!


Here’s another one.


And two more here. I was just flabbergasted by this. Don’t know why, but I was. πŸ™‚

When we got back to the house I was still talking about it and asking, out loud, why would someone think of such a thing.

My dad said that he had heard of someone saying that is was to ward off evil spirits. Then my mom said she’d heard that, too. So…I got curious and searched Google for “bottle trees”. This is what I found:

The History of Bottle Trees

What is a bottle tree?

The bottle tree’s origins can be traced back to Africa. It was believed that bottles suspended in the trees would attract evil spirits when the sun glimmered through the bottles. The evil spirits would then be trapped in the bottles.

We don’t believe bottles could in any way “trap” evil spirits. However, the bottle tree has evolved to become a very unique Southern gardening tradition.

Everyone wants their yard or garden to be unique in some way. Landscaping has become so predictable, that without spending an enormous amount of time and money in your yard or garden, it is becoming difficult to be different. UNLESS YOU GET CREATIVE! Bottle trees give you the chance to be creative! They allow you to put your own twist on your yard or garden. The bottle tree can be placed almost anywhere and it can be moved at your whim. Some of our bottle trees can even be shaped by you, so you really own your design.

Best of all, bottle trees don’t die! They never need water or fertilizer. Your bottle tree will always be in full bloom, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year!

We have a beautiful selection of wine bottles you can choose from, or you can use your own. All of our bottle trees are constructed from smooth, hot rolled round rods. They are shipped unpainted. Most people feel like the rusted look is a more organic appearance. However, you can certainly paint yours any color that makes you happy!

Here’s the website where you can order one, just in case YOU like them. If you do, I won’t think you’re hokey, okay? πŸ˜€

7 thoughts on “Visit With My Parents – Part 2

  1. I’d have to say I think the idea of having a bottle tree in your yard is kind of hokey too, but let me “cap” off this comment by saying, “to each his own.” LOL

    Yes, Sis. Carol, to each his own. Everyone has an opinion and their own taste. I’m glad for that, because the world would be boring if we were all the same. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I think they are just down right “red neck”. Ha!

    Yeah, Mom, and they’re proud of it, too. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. I’ve never heard of a “bottle tree” and I’ve lived in Texas for many years! I guess the tradition is more “Southern” than where I live. Goodness! You learn something new everyday. I won’t be having one in my yard!

    Awwww, come on, Sis. Elms, you could start a fad in Texas! πŸ˜€

    Like

  4. Veeerrrrrrry innerestin!!

    Like

  5. Have seen several of these trees in the country near Arroyo Grande. I just thought someone had an odd sense of style; however, glad to read the history behind the bottle trees. Will look at these displays in a different light from now on.

    What?! You’ve seen these in California?! I do declare! Those folks must’ve moved from the South, you think?

    Like

  6. I lived in the south for 20 1/2 years and never saw a bottle tree. hmmm…It must be a REALLY southern tradition. Not sure about this one. πŸ™‚ Interesting none the less.

    Sis. Hurst, I think your sister, Linda, wants to start the fad in Texas. …I think…hmmmm…maybe not. πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. Wow! I can’t say I’ve ever seen or heard of a bottle tree, but it’s interesting. I actually liked the variety of colors, and I’m not even redneck. I grew up in Chicago. My neighbor has these round things called “Gazing Balls”. Ever hear of them? I think they can be pretty too. But nothing is as pretty as God’s creation; His flowers, tress, plants, etc. They’re the best and cannot be replicated. Hope you enjoyed your time in Mississippi. My youngest brother taught at Tupleo Children’s Mansion for a few years. That’s where he met his wife.

    Like

Leave a Reply

