In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Sacred Harp Singing

3 Comments

The image “https://i1.wp.com/www.charlottesacredharp.org/SacredHarpBook.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

The image “https://i2.wp.com/www.charlottesacredharp.org/OldHundred.gif” cannot be displayed, because it contains errors.

Have you ever heard of this? I haven’t until today while reading a TIME magazine. I found it quite interesting. Hmmmm…I think I would like to try it sometime. Have any of you ever done it?

3 thoughts on “Sacred Harp Singing

  1. Tena, we get one station on our monitor/TV. It is PBS. Sometimes they have very interesting subjects. PBS only shows things like “History”, “Travel”, and lots of related subjects, with NO advertising. Anyway, about a week ago they had the history of this Sacred Harp singing. Very, very interesting. And the music is beautiful. Unfortunately I can’t get any “Video” feeds on my computer. I need Todd. But, I do know about this because of PBS.

    I wonder if Grandpa and Grandma Huggins ever participated in this. It originated in the south. Love you, Mom!

    Like

  2. There’s a regular singing in Santa Cruz hosted by Shelley Phillips, who is a terrific singer. Beginners are always welcome.

    Santa Cruz singings are held on the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays of the month from 7:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. Email Shelley Phillips shelley@got.net or call (831) 426-9155 beforehand for more information.

    The All-California Convention will be in the Bay Area in January, 2009, and I’m hoping to go…

    fasolamatt in minnesota

    Thank you for your comments, fasolamatt! And thanks for the info! I would really like to go give it a try. I don’t want to go alone, though, so…is there anyone out there reading this who would like to try something new and you live not too far from Santa Cruz? Come on! Let’s go! 😀

    Like

  3. I would LOVE to do this with you!

    I notice the dates are on Tuesdays though. That’s church night for us. Hmmm…if there’s another night of the week, I’d love to go along. Santa Cruz is very close for us.

    Yay! Someone wants to go with me! 😀 I’ll see if there is another day, okay? Thanks, my friend, Shannon. Love ya!

    Like

Leave a Reply

