In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Prayer That God Answers

4 Comments

Last night our Pastor taught/preached a wonderful continuation to what he taught last Wednesday – about, “Prayer That God Answers”. He talked about some things that will keep God from hearing and answering our prayers. Here they are from last week and this:

God will not answer our prayers if…

…we have secret sin. Psalms 66:18 – “If I regard iniquity in my heart, The Lord will not hear.” If I KNOW I have sin in my heart, the Lord will not hear me. We must pray it out!

…we are indifferent. Proverbs 1:24, 28 – “Because I have called and you refused, I have stretched out my hand and no one regarded, Then they will call on me, but I will not answer; They will seek me diligently, but they will not find me.” We can’t have indifference in our heart towards God, the house of God, and prayer in the church.

…we are judgmental. Proverbs 21:13 – “Whoever shuts his ears to the poor will also cry himself and not be heard.” If a lost person comes into our church and we look at them (poor in spirit) with a judging attitude, God will not hear us. We should say, “There I go, but by the Grace of God!” What were we before God found us?! God resists the proud.

…we have unforgiveness in our heart. Mark 11:25-26 – “And whenever you stand praying, if you have anything against anyone, forgive him, that your Father in heaven may also forgive you your trespasses. But if you do not forgive, neither will your Father in heaven forgive your trespasses.” No matter what someone has done to us, we MUST forgive them or God will not forgive us when we ask Him to.

How do we know when we have forgiven someone? We forget. If you can’t go a day without thinking of them and what they did, we haven’t forgiven them. If we have trouble forgiving, we must as God, “God, please help me forgive them!” And He will!

“Oh, God! I want You to hear and answer my prayers!”

I’m so thankful to God, every day, for a Pastor who teaches us how to be saved and how to stay saved! We don’t know when we will die and I want to be ready every second of every day in case I die or Jesus comes back for His bride.

4 thoughts on “Prayer That God Answers

  1. He that turneth away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer shall be abomination.
    Psalm 28:9

    Just wanted to add to that what we discussed in Bible study tonight.

    If we turn way our ear from hearing what God has to tell us, then our prayers are an abomination.

    Wow,those are some pretty strong words. “Lord. may you always grant me ears to hear. I never want my prayer to repulse you. I need you, Savior.”

    Like

  2. Awesome post Tena. I hope God hears my prayers. I search my heart every night and pray that The Lord will hear my prayers. I also believe that we should not live with constant condemnation in our hearts. We need to trust that The Lord knows our hearts and will cause us to have happy, uncondemed lifes. Keep up the good work Tena. I love you very much. Mom

    Like

  3. Sounds like Brother Hurst taught a very vital lesson. Thank God for men that preach the truth that will help us get to Heaven!

    Like

  4. Thanks for the scripture, Shannon. Oh, how carefully we must live our lives to always keep our ear (heart) turned to the Word of God!

    Thanks, Mom! I know He answered your prayers to save my soul! Thank you for praying for me! I love you very much, too.

    Amen, Sis. Carol! Thanks for stopping by today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

