In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

My Goal Is God Himself

3 Comments

“My goal is God Himself, not joy, nor peace,
Nor even blessing, but Himself, my God;
‘Tis His to lead me there, not mine, but His-
‘At any cost, dear Lord, by any road!’

“So faith bounds forward to its goal in God,
And love can trust her Lord to lead her there;
Upheld by Him, my soul is following hard
Till God hath full fulfilled my deepest prayer.

“No matter if the way be sometimes dark,
No matter though the cost be ofttimes great,
He knoweth how I best shall reach the mark,
The way that leads to Him must needs be straight.

“One thing I know, I cannot say Him nay;
One thing I do, I press towards my Lord;
My God my glory here, from day to day,
And in the glory there my Great Reward.”

–Author Unknown

3 thoughts on “My Goal Is God Himself

  1. I love the first line. My goal is God Himself. Powerful. And deep.

    Like

  2. Beautiful poem, Tena. May God help us all to follow hard after Him.

    Like

  3. Beautiful. “I cannot say Him nay”, I don’t want to because “my goal is God Himself”. My heart says – whatever it takes – the end is worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

