In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

A Measure of Faith

Leave a comment

I woke this morning with the Bible Study my Pastor taught last night going over and over in my head. He’s been teaching a series of lessons on Wednesday nights called, “Building a Quality Walk with God”. Last night was about “Brotherly Kindness”. I’m thankful for a Pastor who will take the time to explain scriptures in detail when it comes to living for God. I’m realizing all the time that there are scriptures that I didn’t know were in the Bible or just forgot they were there because I had not read them in a long time. In our walks with God, we must make a constant effort to grow, learn, move forward, glean, apply, etc. I want the WORD of GOD to take root in my heart and mind when I hear it preached or taught. That’s how we grow.

One of the scriptures he used last night and expounded upon was
Romans 12:3: “For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith.

We are not to think of ourselves better than anyone else. In God’s eyes, once someone has been filled with His Spirit, that person is the same as all the others who have been filled with His Spirit. We’re not to treat the song leader better than the church janitor! We are not better than any other Spirit-filled child of God. Another scripture he gave us to go along with this was, Galatians 6:10: “Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all, especially to those who are of the household of faith.

“…a measure of faith.” God has given each one of His children a measure of faith. Everyone has a different measure – one God has given to them. So, who are we to judge people when it’s God who has given the measure to them? We are to treat one another with brotherly kindness, respect, forgiveness, love, and patience, according to the measure of faith God has given them.

Adam Clarke’s Commentary on the Bible, Romans 12:3:
“Not to think of himself more highly”… Not to act proudly; to arrogate nothing to himself on account of any grace he had received, or of any office committed to him. Let no man think himself more or greater than God has made him; and let him know that whatever he is or has of good or excellence, he has it from God; and that the glory belongs to the Giver, and not to him who has received the gift. “Measure of faith”…The degree of knowledge and experience which each had received in it, and the power this gave him of being useful in the Church of God.

I would encourage you to continue reading on down; verses 4 and on, talk about how we are many different members, each with different gifts.

“Thank You, God, for speaking to my heart last night through your Word. Help me to take this word and apply it to my life and grow in my walk with You.”

God bless your day! I love you all! 😀

Leave a Reply

