In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

For Jesus, Not Man

1 Comment

Matthew, chapter 6 talks about when giving alms, give to the Lord in secret – not to be seen by man. Alms means, giving to the poor and needy and acts of righteousness.

Sometimes our alms must be made known so that others may have the chance to participate, i. e., giving turkeys to the poor, the whole church can be involved in that. Sometimes God impresses on us to do something (or we just see a need and act on it ourselves) for someone in need, i. e., buying clothes or food for someone who needs it.

Verse 4 of this chapter says, “That thine alms may be in secret: and thy Father which seeth in secret himself shall reward thee openly.”

It is my heart’s desire to do everything for the Lord only and not man. If I do things with the thought in my heart, “I hope someone sees me.” or “I hope someone knows what I’m doing.” That will not please God. I don’t want man’s approval, only God’s! My heart’s thoughts should always be, “Lord, I’m doing this for YOU to see. YOU are the One I want to please and impress, not man.”  (See scripture at right top).

I pray that God always checks my heart before I do or give so that I always do everything for Him. I want HIS rewards and blessings – they’re the best! 🙂

Have a blessed day!

One thought on “For Jesus, Not Man

  1. Thanks for that post. We need to keep everything in perspective, and remember ‘we’ are not ‘top dog’!

    Like

Leave a Reply

