In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Does This Sound Familiar?

10 Comments

Recently, I was diagnosed with A.A.A.D.D.-
Age Activated Attention Deficit Disorder.

This is how it manifests:

I decide to wash my car. As I start toward the garage, I notice that there is mail on the hall table. I decide to go through the mail before I wash the car. I lay my car keys down on the table, put the junk mail in the trash can under the table, and notice that the trash can is full. So, I decide to put the bills back on the table and take out the trash first. But then I think, since I’m going to be near the mailbox when I take out the trash anyway, I may as well pay the bills first. I take my checkbook off the table, and see that there in only one check left. My extra checks are in my desk in the study, so I go to my desk where I find the cup of coffee that I had been drinking. I’m going to look for my checks, but first I need to push the coffee aside so that I don’t accidentally knock it over. I see that the coffee is cold, and I decide to warm it in the microwave. As I head toward the kitchen with the coffee a plant on the counter catches my eye-it needs to be watered. I set the coffee down on the counter, and I discover my reading glasses that I’ve been searching for all morning. I decide I better put them back on my desk, but first I’m going to water the plant. I set the glasses back down on the counter, fill a container with water and suddenly I spot the phone. Someone left it on the kitchen table. I realize that if it rings we might not be able to find it, so I decide to put it back in the den where it belongs, but first I’ll water the flowers. I splash some water on the flowers, but most of it spills on the floor. So, I set the phone back down on the table, get some towels and wipe up the spill. Then I head down the hall trying to remember what I was planning to do. At the end of the day: the car isn’t washed, the bills aren’t paid, there is a cold cup of coffee sitting on the counter, the plants aren’t watered, there is still only one check in my checkbook, I can’t find the phone, I can’t find my glasses, and I don’t remember what I did with the car keys. When I try to figure out why nothing got done today, I’m really baffled because I know I was busy all day long, and I’m really tired. I realize this a serious problem, and I’ll try to get some help for it, but first I’ll check my e-mail.

10 thoughts on “Does This Sound Familiar?

  1. I have seen this before, but it’s still funny, because it is true in my life. I don’t know how many times I’ve walked up the stairs to do something and then forget what it was that I wanted to do. Sometimes I have to then walk back downstairs, and then I remember what I wanted to do! Oh well, at least I get a little more exercise! 🙂

    Like

  2. That is *so* me! I have to write a list of the things I need to do, then cross them off as I go along. I’m so easily sidetracked!

    Like

  3. I think I suffer from this disease too. Is it contagious or hereditary? I notice my sister Carol has it too? Another name that I heard of for this ailment is S.H.E., which stands for “Sidetracked Home Executive”!

    Grins,
    Karen

    Like

  4. DITTO!!!

    This sounds like my week.

    Like

  5. I’m so happy to be young….. 😉

    Like

  6. Jen might be young, but she has senior moments too. 🙂 Kiki, I think it runs in the family, the entire human family.

    Like

  7. No, when you’re young their called blonde moments. YOU-On the other hand, have senior moments more more every day….haha 😉

    Like

  8. *They’re* called blonde moments. LOL

    Like

  9. hey tena my comp works no yay

    Like

  10. This is so funny. Made myself a copy.

    Like

Leave a Reply

