In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

Nothing Can Break You As Long As You Sing

5 Comments

“His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” (Psalm 34:1)

“I heard a joyous strain-
A lark on a leafless bough
Sat singing in the rain.”

I HEARD him singing early in the morning. It was hardly light! I could not understand that song; it was fairly a lilt of joy. It had been a portentous night for me, full of dreams that did disturb me. Old things that I had hoped to forget, and new things that I had prayed could never come, trooped through my dreams like grinning little bare-faced imps. Certainly I was in no humor to sing. What could possess that fellow out yonder to be telling the whole township how joyous he was? He was perched on the rail fence by the spring run. He was drenched. It had rained in the night and evidently he had been poorly housed. I pitied him. What comfort could he have had through that night bathed in the storm? He never thought of comfort. His song was not bought by any such duplicity. It was in his heart. Then I shook myself: The shame that a lark has finer poise than a man!

-Rev. G. A. Leichliter, M. A., B. D.

“Nothing can break you as long as you sing.”

(Springs in the Valley)

_____________________________________________________

I treasure this book. It’s an original; copyright 1939. Its fragile green, hard cover is falling apart, but I am very gentle with it, so it won’t get worse. My mother gave it to me and it is one of the most precious things I own. Springs in the Valley, by Mrs. Charles E. Cowman. Why, you may ask, does it mean so much to you? Open the cover and you will see, hand-written in beautiful cursive:

To Esther

Christmas Dec. 21, 1956

May you ever find joy and comfort in this book. God bless You!

Lots of Love, Alvalene

At the tender age of 20, in Stockton, California, while they attended Western Apostolic Bible College, my mom’s best friend gave this to her. Alvalene passed away many years ago, but I will always remember her because of this book.

But what means more to my heart than this is – all through the book, as I read the daily publications, I feel as though I am reading with my mother as she read so many years ago. For throughout, there are underlines as she put emphasis on particular statements which spoke to her at that moment in time.

Mom, if you read this, thank you for giving me a piece of your heart and mind. I love you!

5 thoughts on “Nothing Can Break You As Long As You Sing

  1. Is this a devotional? It sounds like a great book. How neat to have something that was a source of spiritual strength for your mom. If the Lord tarries, maybe you’ll be able to pass it on to one of your children.

    Blessings,

    Carol

    Like

  2. Dearest Tena: Thank you for posting this about Streams In The Desert……..

    I have my mom’s, your grandmothers copy and I too love reading it!! She has notes in hers too.

    So many times, I have read this devotional and the day’s writing hit me right where I needed it! Always uplifting, always comforting and ever at my side.

    I haven’t heard about your mom arriving in Mississippi…………..I pray they are settling in just fine.

    I am proud of you young lady!!!

    Love, Aunt Naomi

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing this, Tena. Reading it was a wonderful way to start my day. You have a book–and a mom–to be thankful for.

    Like

  4. that is a pretty true title. great and thoughful post tena

    Like

  5. Carol, yes, it’s a devotional. There are two – “Springs in the Valley” and “Streams in the Desert”. Wonderful daily devotionals.

    That’s wonderful, Aunt Naomi, that you have Grandma’s book! Thanks for being proud of me. You are so sweet. I emailed you about my mom – her and Bill arrived safely and are settling in.

    Glad you liked it, Becky. And you, too, Daniel. Thanks all for stopping by.

    Have a blessed day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

