In His Time…

…there is perfect peace.

My Attorney

3 Comments

Excerpt from the Pentecostal Herald Magazine

I had a dream one night. After living what I felt was a decent life, my time on earth came to an end.

The first thing I remember is sitting on a bench in the waiting room of what I thought to be a courthouse. The doors opened and I was instructed to come in and have a seat in the middle of the room.

As I looked around I saw the prosecutor. He was a villainous-looking man who snarled as he stared at me. He was the most evil person I have ever seen.

I looked to my left as the door flew open and the Judge in full, flowing robes came into the room. He appeared to be a kind and gentle man who seemed so familiar to me that I felt I knew Him.

He commanded an awesome presence as He moved across the room. I could not take my eyes off Him. As He took His seat behind the bench, He said, “Let us begin.”

The prosecutor rose and said, “My name is Satan and I am here to show why this man belongs in hell.” He proceeded to tell my past-lies that I told, things that I stole, and when I cheated. He told of other horrible perversions that were once in my life, and the more he spoke the further down in my seat I sank.

I was so embarrassed that I could not look at anyone, even the Judge, as the devil told of sins that even I had completely forgotten. As upset as I was at Satan for telling all these things about me, I was also upset that there was no one to offer any defense for me or to speak up for me. I knew I had been guilty of those things, but I had done some good in my life-didn’t that compensate for the harm I had done?

Satan finished with a fury and said, “This man belongs in hell. He is guilty of all that I have charged, and there is not a person who can prove otherwise.”

The Judge asked me to stand and beckoned me to come forward. As I got up and started walking toward Him, I was able to see Him in His full splendor and magesty. I realized why He seemed so familiar-the Judge was Jesus, my Lord and Savior. I stopped and stood fearfully before Him as He turned to address the court.

“Satan was correct in saying that this man has sinned; I do not deny his allegations. And, yes, the wages of sin is death, and this man deserves to be punished.” Jesus then proclaimed with outstretched arms, “However, I died on the cross so that this person could have eternal life. He has accepted Me as his Savior through baptism in My name and the baptism of the Holy Ghost, and since then has lived his life for Me. So he is Mine.

My Lord continued, “His name is written in the Book of Life and no one can snatch him from Me. Satan still does not understand. This man is not to be given justice, but mercy.”

As Jesus sat down, He paused and said, “There is nothing else that needs to be done. I have done it all for him.” He lifted His mighty hand and slammed the gavel down, and these words bellowed from His lips: “This man is free. His penalty has already been paid in ful. Case dismissed. He may enter into eternal life with Me forever.”

As my Lord led me away, I could hear Satan ranting and raving, “I won’t give up. I will win the next one.”

I asked Jesus as He instructed me where to go next, “Have you ever lost a case?” He lovingly smiled and said, “All who have come to Me and asked Me to come into their lives have received the same verdict as you-debt paid in full.”

3 thoughts on “My Attorney

  1. hey tena hope u have a great week i will c ya in a week vaction boo yah

    Like

  2. Beautiful, nothing more needs to be said.

    Thank you

    Larry

    Like

  3. Hi Tena, Hope you had a great week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

